Life in mammoth…

image

Sitting on a porch swing as Spring River lazes through the marsh grass, robins call, ducklings spread their wings and learn to negotiate the take offs and landings in still waters, I’m brought to thinking about life in Mammoth Springs, Arkansas.

This home within a stone’s throw of the falls and the spring head is my history. My mother’s history. My sister and mine. It is how we share the bits and stories that matter. It is who we were, how we came to this place, this moment in time, and who we are today, at this moment, that matters.

I’m about to go help my mama go through papers, pictures, to make lists and plans.

The business end after we buried my grandfather, yesterday.

We love this place, its history, what it means to the eyes of my niece and nephews, my daughters.

This place, and LIFE in Mammoth matters. After all, the little things, the simple things, matter most of all.

Tags: ,

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

Leave a Reply

