To create a book trailer?

Today, Rachelle Gardner is discussing the pros and cons of the book trailer world. That got me thinking about my previous life, where I worked side by side with Avid editors at a small company in Hollywood.

I watched some of the most brilliant minds in the movie trailer industry as they put together 15, 30 second, and full preview spots for films such as: The Full Monty, Sliding Doors, Jakob the Liar, and so on for Fox Searchlight, Miramax, and other studios…

This was the age when everything had to be copied to video, FedExed across the country, and only at the end of my run there were videos being digitized and sent over the wire. WOW. How the world has changed.  How has modern communication improved the movie trailer biz? I’ve reconnected on FaceBook and LinkedIn, so here’s to hoping I’ll get some valuable insight on that.

For the moment, I have to agree with a fellow author on Book Trailers. I love the music. Music and images invoke feelings of love, loss, triumph, tragedy, fear, hope, desire… Words? Leave ’em for the printed page.

Yesterday I was introduced to the “Un-Book Trailer” – where an author scoured YouTube for a movie montage set to romance…I’m so borrowing this from Kathleen Bittner Roth… who knows I was summarily moved by this piece… so, without further ado, tell me YOUR thoughts on the un-Trailer. Would you read her book based upon this montage of a completely different story?

Visit: http://kathleenbittnerroth.com/

Become a fan of :Will Design For Chocolate:

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

Leave a Reply

