#Writegoal

I’m following the Twitter Hashtag #Writegoal

In essence, if you type: #Writegoal into a twitter search, you can immediatley be surrounded by authors such as yourself, who have a common interest… to finish something they’ve started.

Think of it like a NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) – only, you set the pace and you decide when you’ve achieved what you’re working toward. Make it, don’t make it. Reassess and reset your goals to be more achievable next time.

My #Writegoal has been to finish my WIP by the end of August. I’ve changed the date three times, due to summer and the perils of working/mama/writer-hood. The point is, I have some great new online “friends” who cheer me on, give advice, tips, tricks, and even the shoulder when I’ve run into plot issues.

Today, I was reminded that sometimes you just have to get the story out before you can polish it. I’ve been so ultra-focused on perfection, I’ve forgotten what it takes to get the draft out!

Here’s to tomorrow’s #Writegoal – which I am allowing myself 500 words of plot progression and 500 words of edits. We’ll see where the day takes us. Bop on over to Twitter, and see how we’re doing!

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

Leave a Reply

