Social Networking Free Weekends

I made a promise to my husband a while back.

I promised, avowed, and affirmed that I would not social network on weekends. No facebook. No twitter. Very little e-mail. (Just so I wouldn’t be buried on a Monday morning.)

And guess what?

Everyone is still there when I return on Mondays. Still chattering away about the latest debacle of the government, the implosion of the publishing industry, whether or not one has time to curl up with a cup of coffee to be read to by a hot, British actor. Still twittering and discussing, and message looping. And though I long to know what my college roommate had for dinner last night and how her children received it, just as she longs to know about me and mine, they can wait a few days.

Why?

For the sake of my marriage. For the sake of my friendships and family.

Think to yourself. How many times have you not picked up the phone because you didn’t need to ask how someone was doing? You already knew?

I challenge you to stay social network free for 4 weekends in a row. Can you do it? Can you sign off from myspace or facebook on a Friday and stay away all weekend?

Give it a try and let me know how it goes?

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

Leave a Reply

