Could We Start Again, Please?

It’s Good Friday – I remember being confused by that as a kid. What’s so good about Jesus dying on a cross? That’s HORRIBLE. It was the worst thing I’d ever heard! Why would God do such a thing?

My mother sat down with me, and we listened to her record album – the double album of Jesus Christ, Superstar. I remember sitting on my swing, feet in the dirt, seeking some alone time — while tears coursed my face. Mary Magdalene was singing “Could We Start Again, Please.”

I wondered. Why couldn’t we start again? Why didn’t He stop it? He could have — we all know. At any moment, Jesus could have stopped the whole mess. But, He didn’t. And in an age when there were no phones, no internet, no post office, nothing – His message went out to the world. It is truly a miracle – an answer to prophecy and promise. That every language would hear and understand God’s love. I still listen to Jesus Christ, Superstar every Good Friday. Another amazing thing my own mother did for me…instilling that sort of love and understanding just by being herself…

My good friend, Jackie, posts a morning devotional that I’ve come to rely on. Today – I’d like to end by pointing you to her “morning manna.” And her take on God’s enduring love, and what forgiveness means to her.

Two other men, both criminals, were also led out with him to be executed. When they came to the place called the Skull, there they crucified him, along with the criminals – one on his right, the other on his left. Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”
Luke 23:32-34 (NIV)

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus, according to Philippians 2:5. When people betray us and try to harm us, may we have the humility and lovingkindness to pray and ask God to forgive them. As Jesus hung on the cross, all appeared lost to His followers, but here is a perfect example of how God works everything together for good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Praise God.

http://mannaforyourmorning.blogspot.com/

Remember, to continue in your Easter Lilies boquet – visit White Rose Publishing for your copy of  Janelle Ashley’s – “Wildflowers In Bloom”

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

2 responses to “Could We Start Again, Please?”

  1. Mary Ricksen says :

    A lot of what the bible tells us is so hard to understand. The times were so different. Understanding it as a child is so hard.

  2. Ashley Ludwig says :

    Mary – you are so correct.

    My daughter and I have been going back and forth as her little 5 year old mind tries to grasp the concept. This time of year the bible stories seem so harsh – – up until Easter Sunday… I got a little annoyed with a preschool teacher who went a little too far in her explanation of good Friday for my taste… That’s been a fun one to combat! *sigh*

    Have a wonderful day – and thanks for your comment…

    ~Ashley

Leave a Reply

